Blue Mountains

Recently, my lovely friend Vita of PhotoVita posted some pics of her Blue Mountains family weekend on facebook. I couldn’t resist interviewing her about her stay, partly because I have fond, but very old memories of the Blue Mountains and I wanted to hear about what the young folk get up to there these days, and partly because I secretly covet her photographer’s abilities and I this way I at least get to display a few of her photos. (If I was in Sydney I could hire her photographer’s abilities – she is a professional photographer of newborns, children, maternity, families and pets – but alas I am not nearby.)

Who went? One 3.5yr old, Mum, Aunty A & Uncle J

Review: We usually stay at my sisters Blue Mountains holiday house in Bullaburra and don’t venture from there but enjoy the rather large property, mainly lots of bush walks and adventures in the surrounds, like collecting firewood, yabbying in the river and gardening which we all really enjoy – especially my 3 year old who loves the outdoors. This trip we wanted to venture out and see the Blue Mountains area. Being a long weekend, I also wanted to avoid the real tourist sites.

Highlights: Visiting the neighbours who have a hobby farm, with horses, ponies, chooks, goats and dogs – as you can imagine my son was in his element. Visiting the old Apple orchard Logan Brae, recommended by Eden. The apples were delicious as was the fresh apple juice – my son enjoyed both. The adults especially enjoyed the warm spiced apple juice, which was like drinking a warm apple pie. It was certainly mountain cold up there and to have such a delicious warm drink was perfect.

Challenges: Not really any challenges apart from the long bush walk to the neighbour’s house, when I had to carry my son on my shoulders most of the way. Oh and the apple orchard can be muddy after some rain so pack your gumboots. I forgot how cold it was in the Blue Mountains, it kind of took my breath away at first.

Price bracket: Very Cheap. A box of apples at the Apple Orchard cost $12 and fresh 2 Litre bottle of apple juice $5, warm spiced apple juice $3.00. Every thing else was free.

[Ed note: for an extra cost, there’s a range of tourist accommodation to suit all price brackets in the Blue Mountains, so it’s all good for those of us without a conveniently-located sister. You can also get there by public transport or tourist vehicle if you don’t have a car. There’s lots of bushwalking around for everyone.]

Three Photos, plus a bonus because I really like them:

My son very excited about seeing a real working tractor.

My son very excited about seeing a real working tractor.

The neighbours' lovely farm.

The neighbours’ lovely farm.

Enjoying spending time with the animals on the farm.

Enjoying spending time with the animals on the farm.

My son absolutely loving the fresh red apples. NB. The pallete of apples in the photo are the rejects, most likely used for juicing.

My son absolutely loving the fresh red apples. NB. The pallete of apples in the photo are the rejects, most likely used for juicing.

Itinerary: 

Day One (Saturday):

  • Drove to Bullabura. (1hr 15 mins from Sydney)
  • Toilet stop and window shopping at the Antique shop in Bullaburra. It hadn’t opened yet but there were lots of amazing things in the window.
  • Arrive at the house. Aunty A and Uncle J had arrived the day before so the fire was on and the house was nice and cosy.
  • We had morning tea then hit the garden to finish off some landscaping that was already started. My son loved helping out and digging the dirt. I took the opportunity to play with my camera and get some fun shots.
  • We decided it was too late to cook for lunch so we headed out to Blackheath for yummy pies at The Bakehouse.The weather was fairly miserable – cold and drizzling on and off.
  • We then headed to the apple orchard. I was disappointed you couldn’t actually pick your own apples as it turned out they had already been harvested, but there was still lots to see like wonderful old machinery, a spectacular view looking over the valley and tractors that my son was happy to sit on – not to mention loads of apples and apple trees. I took some great photos which I was happy about. That afternoon, we snuggled up around the fire and relaxed.

Day Two (Sunday)

  • In the morning we spent more time in the garden and collecting wood for the fire. Then we baked a cake to take to the neighbours’ after lunch.
  • We walked to the neighbours’ through the wonderful bushland. It was an uphill treck which my son found challenging – hence carrying him on my shoulders most of the way. We spent most of the time with animals. My son got to pat and feed the goats, pat the horses and feed the chickens. He absolutely loved this place and often asks when we are going back.
  • After our visit we headed back home. It was a long weekend so we could have stayed the extra day but I knew the traffic back would be atrocious and it was.
